Polar Bears Stranded on Thin Ice in the great debate: Energy, Environment and Economy

January 19, 2008

On Feb. 6 — three days before FWS’s new deadline — the Minerals Management Service (MMS), also part of the Interior Department, plans to lease 30 million acres for oil and gas drilling in the Chukchi Sea bordering Alaska, where one-fifth of the world’s remaining polar bears live. The Market, the State and Civil Society are again focusing on big-eyed talking animals to capture global attention.

read more | digg story

ocean.flynn @ Flickr.

8 Responses to “Polar Bears Stranded on Thin Ice in the great debate: Energy, Environment and Economy”


  1. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


  2. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


  3. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


  4. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic enameling I did in 2000 titled Nukara. I […]


  5. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


  6. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


  7. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


  8. […] Bears Wait-Listed as Endangered" added it to del.icio.us/ocean.flynnand blogged it on papergirls. blog. This background is a detail from an acrylic painting I did in 2000 entitled Nukara. I used […]


Leave a Reply

